Is libp2p suitable to build a node for a existing non-libp2p network?

I’m currently investigating using libp2p to build a node for an existing p2p network that is not built using libp2p and have some questions/requesting advice. I’m very new to p2p tech in general so some of my questions may be a bit ignorant - feel free to make any corrections/etc.

I plan to use the Rust implementation if I go with libp2p (but would also be open to the JS impl if there was a need/limitation with Rust).

Very brief overview:

• Network is over TCP
  • Doesn’t use encryption (currently)

Questions:

1. Is it possible to use a custom handshake/protocol negotition? The network requires a specific handshake before any other p2p messages are sent, it looks something like: Connect to remote over TCP → SendPeerHandshake message → ReceivePeerHandshakeResponse message → now we can handle other messages.

2. Is it possible to run libp2p without any encryption (Rust impl)?

3. The way it gathers peers is by bootstraping from a known set of peers and then sending “ListPeers” messages to known peers and receiving “KnownPeers” messages, is it possible to use “custom peer gathering” like this?

4. How/would mplex (or whatever it is) work with other nodes that aren’t libp2p based?

5. Does it make sense to use libp2p on a network where other nodes aren’t using libp2p? My gut feeling is libp2p provides a lot of useful core functionality whereby it is still worth using if I can accomplish the above

6. Any general advice/suggestions/recommendations would be very much appreciated

Thank you.

Libp2p’s is mainly made for you to be able to add more features not remove some.
You can implement your own transport that implements an exchange sequence that the other nodes are using.
You can implement your own encryption layer that doesn’t encrypt anything.
You can implement your own muxer that does not mux.