Minimal public network

I am a developer on a distributed system. I am trying to add a peer to peer communication layer using libp2p. I specifically want this to be a completely independent network. I do not want to connect to the main IPFS network or anything like that. There will be one or more well-known bootstrap peers/seeds. The nodes are run by multiple parties using cloud infrastructure like AWS, so mDNS is not an option.

How do I bootstrap a network using a DHT for discovery and routing? Every example I can find either used direct connections, mDNS, or someone else’s servers. I specifically want to build a network without using any outside servers. I can build a network by having one or more seeds and gossiping peer addresses, but I want to be able to use NAT traversal and all the other powerful features that come with DHT routing/discovery. And I don’t want to reinvent the wheel.

I am open to using something other than DHT if there is a better alternative that works in my scenario

Here’s a very rough guideline one one possible implementation:

1. Start bootstrap servers on a cloud provider. Make sure these have circuit relay v2 enabled.
  2. New libp2p nodes should have these bootstrap servers hard coded. And should connect to them on start.
  3. The DHT protocol will then query random keys to build up a routing table (a list of peers to connect to). This will also tell the peers about itself.

Note that nodes behind a NAT will need to be relayed over a relay server before they can do holepunching (in order to run dcutr).

I hope that’s enough to get you started. Out of curiosity, which implementation are you using?

1 Like

I’m using go-libp2p. Is there anything special I need to do to test this locally? Is it feasible to test locally, with the bootstrap servers running on my PC or LAN? For now I’d be happy to get peer discovery working at all (proper peer discovery, not my janky DIY version). Supporting nodes behind a NAT can come later.