About custom protocols and peer and stream managements

Hi guys, what an awesome project libp2p is!! i’m new here, but I’m studying this project from 2018 almost… I’m current working on a network based on libp2p, but I have some questions over different fields.

Right now I’m using Gossipsub with different channels to simulate my custom protocol, but I guess I should build my own protocol. So, I made some easy implementation on Handle method. My misunderstanding concern about peer management and stream connections.

It’s hard to explain, but in a sample project I made a bootstrap with autodial true. With my custom protocol I have to set autodial to false and managing all peer and stream management by the protocol. Does it right? This was first question…

While I have two type of peers in my protocol, with the useful protobuffer message in my custom protocol have any kind of self routing or I have to manage like gossippub?

Thanks for the support!! :slight_smile:

Hi Giorgio,

It seems like we’re missing a lot of context here, which makes it difficult to answer your questions.

Right now I’m using Gossipsub with different channels to simulate my custom protocol, but I guess I should build my own protocol.

Could you elaborate on this a bit more? What do you mean by “simulate”? Are you ultimately planning to replace Gossipsub with a custom overlay topology / broadcast protocol? Assuming that is indeed the case, can you explain the significance of the different “channels” (do you mean “topics”?), and explain which part of your as-of-yet-unimplemented protocol they simulate?

This will help ensure our recommendations are in line with your actual goals … I’d hate for us to send you off in the wrong direction! :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

With my custom protocol I have to set autodial to false and managing all peer and stream management by the protocol.